Jump to content United States-English
HP.com Home Products and Services Support and Drivers Solutions How to Buy
» Contact HP

HP.com home

Stan Williams awarded Seaborg Medal


HP Labs

» Research
» News and events
» Technical reports
» About HP Labs
» Careers @ HP Labs
» Worldwide sites
» Downloads
Content starts here
By Jamie Beckett, October 2007

HP Senior Fellow R. Stanley Williams has received the prestigious Glenn T. Seaborg Medal awarded by the UCLA Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry to honor individuals for exceptional scientific contributions to chemistry and biochemistry.

Williams, who initiated and leads HP Labs’ research in nanotechnology, joins a celebrated group that includes five Nobel Prize winners, a former editor of the journal Science and two winners of the U.S. National Medal of Science.

In association with his award, Williams will address the Seaborg Symposium on “Making and Using Functional Nanostructures” on November 3.

gif gif gif gif

Learn more

» Stan Williams biography
» Quantum Science Research group
» Seaborg Medal
gif gif

News and events

» Recent news stories
» Archived news stories

Research in nanoelectronics, nanophotonics

Williams is the Founding Director of the HP Quantum Science Research (QSR) group, a team of more than 50 scientists and engineers working in areas of fundamental physical sciences. He is one of just five active HP Senior Fellows, and is currently the interim director of Advanced Studies at HP Labs.

For the past 30 years, Williams’ primary scientific research has been in the areas of solid-state chemistry and physics, and their applications to technology. This has evolved into the areas of nanostructures and chemically assembled materials, with an emphasis on the thermodynamics of size and shape.

Most recently, he has examined the fundamental limits of information and computing, which has led to his current research in nanoelectronics and nanophotonics.

Other honors

Williams has been awarded 62 U.S. Patents with 40 more pending, and has published more than 300 papers in professional scientific journals.

He has received numerous awards for business, scientific and academic achievement, including the 2004 Joel Birnbaum Prize with Phil Kuekes, the 2003 Herman Bloch Medal for Industrial Research, the 2000 Julius Springer Award for Applied Physics, the 2000 Feynman Prize in Nanotechnology, the Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Award and the Sloan Foundation Fellowship.

He was named to the inaugural Scientific American 50 Top Technology leaders in 2002 and then again in 2005 (the first to be named twice). The molecular electronics program he leads was named the Technology of the Year for 2002 by Industry Week magazine.

Printable version
Privacy statement Using this site means you accept its terms Feedback to HP Labs
© 2009 Hewlett-Packard Development Company, L.P.